How to look for a job in a ‘haystack’

field-under-a-cloudy-sky-1357611-mI am a Journalism graduate from UP, Diliman. Two months ago, I resigned from my job because the company that I worked for closed down. I still don’t have a new job. Some companies that I’ve applied to have already accepted me. The problem is I turned them down because I felt I wouldn’t be happy working for those companies. I’ve applied in various public relations (PR) firms. I’m looking forward to working as a public relations officer. I used to work in a PR company and I must admit I really liked what I was doing. I learned how to coordinate with different clients and I met a lot of people from the media. Hopefully, one or two of the PR firms I’ve applied to would start to call me. I know being a UP graduate is an advantage. But why is it still hard to look for the job I want? I did not graduate with honors but my grades are above average. I hope that I’ll have a new job soon. Please kindly advise me on job hunting other than searching the Internet or mailing a letter. I’m not giving up. I just need a word of encouragement. – Determined Jobseeker

It seems you know exactly what job you want. But unfortunately, the job you want looks like a needle in a haystack. So, how to find it? Naturally, in a haystack, figuratively speaking that is. This means that if you want to work for a PR company, apply to all the PR firms in the business. As one of my executive friends advise, “Use the 80-20 rule. For every five applications you send out, you will probably get one call. So the more applications you send, the higher your chances of landing your dream job.”

Be prepared though to be very patient as looking for the exact job you want may take some time. If you can’t find one in six months and you need the income badly, try looking at PR jobs in companies. Most big companies have a public relations office and the work they do there is more or less similar to what PR firms do.

As you look for your job, try exercising your PR skills. Network with family, friends and business acquaintances for possible job opportunities in the line you want. In this way, as you hunt for a job, you enhance your competencies in your field.

I admire your determination to get a job you really like. If I were your interviewer, this would be a plus factor because when you have passion for your work, you will put in your best to the tasks on hand. Highlight this when you get interviewed for the job. You can say, “PR is really what I want to do. In fact, I am willing to wait for this job. This means that when you hire me, I am sure to give my best for the work you require and I will be in the field for the long-term.”

For the word of encouragement that you asked, let me share with you and all job seekers this poem of Fra Giovanni who wrote it in 1513,

“I salute you!
There is nothing I can give you which you have not;
But there is much that, while I cannot give, you can take.
No heaven can come to us unless our hearts find rest in it today.
Take heaven.
No peace lies in the future which is not hidden in the present moment.
Take peace.
The gloom of the world is but a shadow;
Behind it, yet within our reach, is joy.
Take joy.
And so… I greet you, with prayer that for you, now and forever,
The day breaks and shadows flee away.”

And to add my own words to this hopeful prayer, there is nothing that can assure you of your success, except what you have within you. Take your dream.

Photo credit: http://www.freeimages.com

About

HR professional

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Learning Zone

Hi, I am MyT! Welcome to MyTrabaho!

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers

Site Stats
  • 115,307 hits
