Opportunities exist for the academically challenged jobseeker

cap-and-diploma-533027-m I read your article yesterday entitled ‘Attitude, not aptitude, gets you the job.’ First of all, I would like to greet you on having written such an informative and encouraging piece. I call it encouraging because it has somehow given me hope of finding a good job eventually, even though I am not an honor student. I have to admit, that is something I am becoming increasing concerned about lately. I share the opinion that one’s attitude must indeed carry a lot of weight when it comes to hiring the right person for a particular job. However, I cannot help but feel—and fear—that most companies still do look at an applicant’s scholastic records. I would really like to know how employers feel about hiring people who as students failed more than one subject. As you might have guessed, I am one of those students. All I can say is that failing more than once has truly taught me humility. I will not try to justify these failures or make excuses for them, but I do believe that in spite of these red marks on my record, I am still a person of strong character. These unfortunate instances have not dampened my willingness to work and eagerness to learn. I am currently a fourth-year student in a well-known university. Hopefully, I would be able to graduate next year and enter the job market. I would appreciate you opinion on what my chances for getting a job in a good company would be. Thank you very much, and may God bless you always. – Academically challenged jobseeker

To answer the concern of this reader, I believe that if the reader has learned humility and the importance of hard work after getting a failed grade, then she surely has passed with high marks in the school of life. Any interviewer worth her salt, if she were to receive a letter of application written in this manner, would surely take a second look at the applicant’s resume and call her in for an interview, should her academic background match the vacancy. There are so many ways to make up for mistakes, especially those committed in the excesses of youth (like failed grades!) and humility is a great way to make up for them.

While it is true that employers would like to hire people with good academic records because this indicates a positive attitude towards work (studying is a lot of hard work!), still there is hope for the academically challenged job seeker in the job market if he learns from his mistakes. Of course, it is always best to try to get good grades and avoid being handicapped with failed marks later on. Fortunately, the letter sender still has time to recover lost ground and shine in the coming school year. If she does, she can, in the words of a well-known revolutionary, “turn a bad thing into a good thing.”

Photo credit: http://www.freeimages.com

About

HR professional

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Learning Zone

Hi, I am MyT! Welcome to MyTrabaho!

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers

Site Stats
  • 115,630 hits
